Tornado ownership issue

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Tornado ownership issue

munkyMastr
Ok, I played a Stormship, the AI took it with the Underwork card that swaps it to their side, can't remember the name. I played a Tornado, so it would go back to my hand, and it went to their hand. Tornado specifically says "owners' hand". Does them taking control of it make them the owner? I play MTG, and it has different definitions for owner and controller. Just checking if this is right? Great game!
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Tornado ownership issue

MunkyMastr
Darkling Slavers is the card, FYI
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Tornado ownership issue

ledlevee
I've noticed in this game, it seems that if a card takes control of another card, it is for the rest of that match.  For instance, the card will go into your hand and/or graveyard if you took control of it.  Every instance of this situation I've seen, this is how it works in this game.  It's different from MTG in this way.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Tornado ownership issue

BourkeStreet
In reply to this post by munkyMastr
It's not an issue. AI took ownership of your Stormship with Darkling Slavers.

Answer to your question is: Yes.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Tornado ownership issue

MunkyMastr
In reply to this post by munkyMastr
Consensus seems that it's normal. No matter to me either way, I will just plan accordingly in the future!
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Tornado ownership issue

Quintivarium
In reply to this post by ledlevee
I think this "rule" is indicative of the difference between an essentially electronic game like Spellcraft and one that developed from physical cards like MTG.

With physical cards, it is necessary to track card ownership to return cards to the correct player.  With electronic cards, the computer can keep track of card holdings and the simpler idea that a stolen or copied card actually belongs to the player who takes over the card reduces in-game record keeping.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Tornado ownership issue

SteveGoblin
Yes, as you have correctly deduced, ownership during a game can switch for the duration of the entire match, meaning a stolen card will go to your discard pile or your hand, as the card is considered yours. But of course you don't really get to 'keep it' after the match ends!